Extra Space Storage facility on 1040 E 87th St - Chicago, IL
(424 REVIEWS)

Chicago self storage at 1040 E 87th St

Hours

Today's Gate: 06:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Today's Office: 09:00 AM - 05:30 PM
Select a Unit Below

There are no results for those selected filters. Please select different filter options or clear all filters to see available units.

Call for assistance

HOURS OF OPERATION

Storage Gate Hours
Mon-Fri: 06:00am-10:00pm
Sat: 06:00am-10:00pm
Sun: 06:00am-10:00pm
Storage Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 09:30am-06:00pm
Sat: 09:00am-05:30pm
Sun: closed

Located Near Chatham, Avalon Park, & Calumet Heights

Extra Space Storage is conveniently located in the South Side of Chicago near Chatham and surrounding neighborhoods. Local residents will recognize our location just to the east of the 87th St Metra train station, roughly half a mile east of popular stores like Target and Nike Factory Store.

An Affordable, Secure Self Storage Solution

With reasonably-priced storage units and move-in specials, including first month free and first month half off, you can count on Extra Space Storage to provide you with tremendous value. But that isn't all. We've also taken extensive measures to ensure your belongings are safe. Security features at this Chicago storage facility include:
  • Electronic gate access
  • Video surveillance cameras
  • Individually alarmed storage units

Storage Units & Storage Lockers

Our storage facility at 1040 E 87th St offers unit sizes from 3x3 reduced height storage lockers to large 20x30 storage units. Unit features include indoor access, drive-up access, and more for your convenience!

Climate-Controlled Storage & Drive-Up Access Available

We have two storage unit types with different benefits available:
  • Climate Control:Need to store temperature-sensitive items? Climate control can help protect your belongings from extreme temperature changes. These units typically maintain a storage environment between 55 and 80 degrees throughout the year.
  • Drive-Up Access: These exterior units allow you to pull your vehicle directly up to the storage unit to load and unload. In some cases, you might even pull your vehicle into these units, as they're commonly used to store motorcycles and cars.

Chicago Car & Motorcycle Storage

With drive-up storage units ranging from 5x10 to 10x30, we're able to offer enclosed vehicle storage options for a variety of customers.
  • Motorcycle Storage: Motorcycles are commonly stored in 5x10 storage units.
  • Car Storage: Automobiles are most commonly stored in 10x20 units. Some compact cars can fit into a smaller 10x15 unit. Larger vehicles, such as pickup trucks, might need a 10x30.

Other Amenities & Services

  • Sturdy moving carts available for heavy, bulky items
  • Accommodates trucks larger than 20 feet
  • Wide-drive aisles to accommodate large moving trucks
  • Convenient freeway access
  • Deliveries accepted
  • On-site office
  • Solar site

Experience the Extra Space Difference

At Extra Space Storage, you can count on a clean, well-maintained storage facility and exceptional customer service from our friendly, professional staff. Take a quick look through our reviews, and you'll see why so many Chicago residents choose us as their self storage solution!

Company

Employees: 1-10

Payment Options: MasterCard / VISA / American Express / Discover / Check / Cash / Invoice

Established Date: 1977

Site Number: 8259

Directions

Intersections/Landmarks

On 87th Street between Dobson Ave and Greenwood Ave; just east of the Amtract Train Bridge. Directly across from Akers Packaging Service, INC

Directions from the North

Drive south on I-94. Take exit 61B and merge onto S Lafayette Ave. Turn left onto W 87th St. Pass Family Dollar and continue straight. Our facility will be on the left after S Dobson Ave.

Directions from the South

Drive northeast on I-94. Take exit 65 and merge onto S Stony Island Ave. Pass Dunkin’ Donuts and turn left onto E 87th St. Our facility will be on the right after S Greenwood Ave.

Directions from the East

Drive west on E 87th St. Pass I-90 and continue straight. Our facility will be on the right after S Greenwood Ave.

Directions from the West

Drive east on W 87th St. Pass I-94 and continue straight. Our facility will be on the left after S Dobson Ave.

Frequently Asked Questions at 1040 E 87th St

Are storage units climate controlled at 1040 E 87th St?

Can you store a car in self storage at 1040 E 87th St?

Do I need insurance to store my vehicle at 1040 E 87th St?

What is the largest storage unit I can rent at 1040 E 87th St?

What size padlock should I use for storage unit at 1040 E 87th St?

Size Disclaimer

*Excludes administrative and insurance fees

Recent Customer Reviews About This Facility

May 21, 2022

Linda G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim great customer service always pleasant to talk to and very helpful and informative

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/21/2022)

Thank you for the kind review, Linda. We're glad Rakim was informative, helpful, pleasant, and able to provide you with the customer service you deserve! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

May 19, 2022

Louise C.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Place is clean the people who work there are friendly and helpful

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/20/2022)

Hi Louise, thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the quality and cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Stop by our office or give us a call at (239) 330-9674 at any time if you need assistance or have any questions.

May 15, 2022

Tracey W.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Alex is the Go to Guy!!!? Thank You Alex!!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/16/2022)

Hello, Tracey. Thank you for the review. We're so glad Alex could meet your storage needs. Please stop by the office if you need anything!

May 12, 2022

Yani M.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rahkem and Alex was so nice

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/13/2022)

Thanks for the great review, Yani! We're glad Rahkem and Alex were so nice. Please call us at (773) 221-0400 if you have any questions!

May 3, 2022

Nancy G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Store employee, Rakim,, great service, quick and efficient

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/4/2022)

Thank you for the kind review, Nancy. We're glad Rakim was quick and efficient! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

April 28, 2022

Vanessa B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

My experience at Extra Space was a very good one. Alex was such a professional gentleman. He explained to me in details everything related to me renting a storage unit. This review would have gotten 5 stars but the price of my unit for the size is too high taking a star away. But the customer service was excellent.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/28/2022)

Thank you for the kind review, Vanessa. We're glad Alex met you with professional and informative service! Thank you for your feedback on our rates. Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

April 25, 2022

Cheryl M.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Alex was informative, patient, and knowledgeable. I had great service from start to finish.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/26/2022)

Hello, Cheryl. Thank you for the review. We're so glad Alex could meet your storage needs. Please stop by the office if you need anything!

April 19, 2022

Stephanie B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim and Alex were a great help with setting up my Mother's storage unit.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/20/2022)

Thank you for the kind review, Stephanie. We're glad Rakim and Alex were able to help you with your mother's rental process! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

April 7, 2022

DM D.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Fantastic customer service at 57 W 85th St in Chicago. Mary, the facility manager, works hard to accommodate, and recently went above and beyond to help me secure my unit for an extended period at an affordable rate. Additionally, the facility is clean, well maintained, and I feel secure when on premises.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/8/2022)

Thank you for the review, Dm! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, accommodating staff and are so happy Mary from our Chicago location was able to assist you! We are so happy to know the maintenance, security, and cleanliness of our property met your expectations. Our team is here to help, as always, give us a call at 888-storage if anything comes up.

April 4, 2022

Cortez C.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim and Alex had such great customer service.. got me in and out. Made sure I had a great storage room and left satisfied

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/4/2022)

Thanks for the awesome review, Cortez! We work hard to meet the expectations of our customers, and we're happy to hear Rakim and Alex hit the mark for you! Don't hesitate to stop by the office or contact us at (773) 221-0400 if you need anything.

April 2, 2022

Janiyah R.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Alex, Rakim were great! Setting up my storage space took no time.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/2/2022)

Thank you for the review, Janiyah. We're glad Alex and Rakim were able to help you with your rental process! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

April 2, 2022

phranshon c.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Thank you Rakim and Alex for making this process easy had a great experience with you guys

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/2/2022)

Thanks for the awesome review, Phranshon! We work hard to meet the expectations of our customers, and we're happy to hear Rakim and Alex hit the mark for you! Don't hesitate to stop by the office or contact us at (773) 221-0400 if you need anything.

March 26, 2022

Fred J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim was very helpful ... and patient any body needs storge come see him for your needs great guy

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/27/2022)

Thank you for the great rating, Fred. We're glad Rakim was patient and able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

March 26, 2022

Christine B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim was very good and helpful.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/27/2022)

Thank you for the great rating, Christine. We're glad Rakim was able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

March 25, 2022

The G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim and Alex were so nice and professional and showed the greatest care and provided me with the best service. Rakim also helped me with getting a great deal on my units that would save us money down the road. I appreciate the time Rakim spent in helping me with my moving and storage process. Thank you Rakim snd Alex for everything! I appreciate you guys! Sincerely, Mrs. Sparks

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/26/2022)

Thank you for the review, The Given Chance. We're glad Rakim and Alex were professional and able to help get you a great deal on your unit! Your kind words are appreciated. Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

March 25, 2022

Renae S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Customer service is always A1. Rakim is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to resolve and issues you may have and make sure the customer is satisfied

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/26/2022)

Thank you for the great rating, Renae. We're glad Rakim was extremely helpful and able to meet your storage needs! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

March 16, 2022

Amie G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakm had great service very polite

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/16/2022)

Thanks for the positive review, Amie! We are glad you had a great experience with Rakm. Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

March 15, 2022

Damion A.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

I wanted to personally thank Alex for his assistance with my storage yesterday. He was very accommodating for my first time leasing a storage for my truck. Being new to Chicago it has been quite stressful getting settled, but, this is one less thing to worry about having my truck privately secured. Thank you.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/15/2022)

Thank you for the review, Damion! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, accommodating staff and are so happy Alex was able to assist you! Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

March 8, 2022

Marquia T.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim was fantastic. My flight was delayed from O'hare airport & I needed to get a storage unit before my movers arrived tonight. He was very helpful and patient as I was in a hurry for time.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/15/2022)

Thank you for the kind words, Marquia T.. We're glad Rakim was very helpful and patient! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.

March 8, 2022

bricebell1

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Rakim was extremely helpful and was able to get me situated. I highly recommend him and whenever I need a space to store things I will come back to Rakim.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/8/2022)

Thank you for the kind words, Bricebell1. We're glad Rakim was able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (773) 221-0400 if you need any future assistance.