Extra Space Storage
485 W 129th StNew York, NY 10027

Read 596 Reviews

Current Customer:
New Customer:
Storage Gate Hours
Mon-Fri: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sat: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sun: 10:00am-04:00pm
Storage Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sat: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sun: 10:00am-04:00pm

HOURS OF OPERATION

Storage Gate Hours
Mon-Fri: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sat: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sun: 10:00am-04:00pm
Storage Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sat: 08:00am-07:00pm
Sun: 10:00am-04:00pm

Conveniently Located Near You

Extra Space Storage is in West Harlem in the Manhattanville, City College area. Located on Convent Ave and W 129th St, residents of Manhattanville, Morningside Heights, Hamilton Heights, and Sugar Hill can access this location with ease. Recognizable landmarks surrounding our facility include MGM Deli on the west and John H Finley Campus School PS/MS 129M on the northeast side of our building.

Easily Accessible for West Harlem Residents

We're close to both FDR Drive and Henry Hudson Pkwy. We're also accessible via mass transit with subway and bus stops near the facility. This makes us a popular option for nearby residents living in residential buildings, including The Towers at CCNY, St Agnes HDFC, 408 W 130 ST, The Alberta, The Langston, and more!

Near The City College of New York and Columbia University

Located between these two schools, this facility is the perfect storage solution for students heading home for the summer, studying abroad, or traveling for an internship. With popular storage unit sizes for college students, such as 5x5 and 5x9 units, as well as smaller storage lockers, convenient amenities, and exceptional security, we offer everything students are looking for in a storage solution.

A Versatile Storage Facility in Harlem, New York

With self storage space from 10 square feet to 300 square feet, climate-controlled storage, covered off-street parking, and more, our W 129th St storage facility is capable of handling residential and commercial storage needs alike!

Storage Units & Storage Lockers

Our Harlem location has standard storage units available in sizes 5x5 to 10x30. In addition to these units, we also offer locker-sized units in sizes 5x2 to 5x10 with features like reduced height and rolling stair access. Storage lockers are great for smaller self storage needs and provide a more affordable solution for those who don't need the space of a standard storage unit.

Climate-Controlled Storage

Need to store temperature-sensitive items? Climate control can help protect your belongings from extreme temperature changes. These units typically maintain a storage environment between 55 and 80 degrees throughout the year.

Convenient Parking for Loading & Unloading

This location has covered parking and a covered loading bay for convenient loading and unloading. This means you'll never have trouble parking at our facility, and you'll be protected from the elements while dropping your belongings off.

Highly Secure Facility

We have several security measures in place to keep your belongings safe. To start, our facility is always staffed when it's open. We also have video cameras monitoring the facility at all times. With staff on-site seven days a week and video surveillance, we provide the peace of mind you're looking for.

Moving Truck Discount

Using a moving truck or moving service to get your belongings to the facility? We'll reimburse you up to $50!

Other Amenities & Services

  • Manager available at the facility
  • Open Sundays
  • Elevators to upper levels
  • Se Habla Espanol

Experience Exceptional Service

The level of service offered by our team is what makes us different than any other storage option in Manhattan. Our friendly, professional staff is dedicated to giving you with the best possible experience. From providing you with a clean, well-maintained storage space to helping you choose the best storage unit for your needs, our team is second to none. This is what makes us the best storage solution in New York City!

Company

Employees: 1-10

Payment Options: MasterCard / VISA / American Express / Discover / Check / Cash / Invoice

Established Date: 1977

Site Number: 1805

Recent Customer Reviews About This Facility

May 2, 2021

Stacie V.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Thank you Cecily for being so helpful and professional during the process! Highly recommend coming to her for the best service possible.

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/5/2021)

Hi Stacie, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, professional staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with Cecily! Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

May 2, 2021

Gabriel V.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Cecily was very kind and helpful Storage facility was very clean and neat will definitely recommend this business

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/6/2021)

Thanks, Gabriel. We are thrilled you had a great experience with Cecily! Stop by our office or give us a call at 888-storage at any time if you need assistance or have any questions.

May 1, 2021

Cash P.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Cecily is a great worker and very helpful

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/4/2021)

We appreciate the review, Cash! We're so thrilled you have had a positive experience with Cecily! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at 888-storage if you need any future assistance.

May 1, 2021

Vince M.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

I had the lovely pleasure of having Cecily help me out with my requests and needs at Extra Space Storage. She provided me with exceptional service and met my every need. Although I might have been annoying at times lol she fulfilled every request without hesitation and I would definitely recommend this business to anyone. 2 thumbs up for this company and employee, absolutely unparalleled customer service!!!!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/4/2021)

Hi Vince. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, knowledgeable staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with Cecily! If there is anything we can do to improve your experience, please let us know at customerservice@extraspace.com. Our team would love to hear from you.

May 1, 2021

Lillie V.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Ms. Cecily was very helpful and showed great customer service very attentive to my needs. Thank you so much

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/4/2021)

Hello, Lillie. Thank you for the review. We're so glad Ms. Cecily could meet your storage needs. Please stop by the office if you need anything!

April 30, 2021

Linda O.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Thank you for serving me today. I appreciate the friendly talk and information that addressed my concerns of renting storage from you. Thanks

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/2/2021)

Our team appreciates your rating, Linda. We're grateful to have you as a customer. Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

April 30, 2021

Eddiliz G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

This location is great, very convenient and they are willing to accommodate your needs. Especially Jeannette, girl get stuff done!

Response from Extra Space Storage (11/20/2020)

We’re grateful for your rating, Eddiliz. Call us at (646) 713-1236 if you have any questions or need assistance with your rental!

April 30, 2021

Odel J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Staff Is super friendly and very helpful. I was originally looking for a storage I thought of size would be good, but they new better, and truly and surely, they where right. The Storage is clean and very secure also you have 2 places to unload your cargo. Highly recommend, look Jeannette she is the bomb

Response from Extra Space Storage (8/3/2020)

Thank you for your feedback, Odel! Providing renters with clean and secure facilities is our top priority. We're glad we were able to meet your storage needs. We really appreciate the recommendation as well as the 5-star review! Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything!

April 28, 2021

Mary K.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Had a great and easy time moving in thanks to Keith!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/30/2021)

Thanks for the positive review, Mary Kathryn! We are glad you had a great experience with Keith. Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

April 27, 2021

Alaycia P.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

One of our biggest concerns was “where are we going to store our stuff is such short notice” but Bronson at Extra Storage Space took that worry away in just a matter of seconds. He made the process so quick and simple and he helped us save money!!!!! Thank you so much Bronson and Extra Storage Space!!!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/28/2021)

Hi Alaycia, thank you for your review. We're glad Bronson took that worry away in just a matter of seconds, made the process so quick and simple, and helped you save money! Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-STORAGE if you need anything!

April 24, 2021

Rosario D.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Gracia Bronson

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/27/2021)

We appreciate the review, Rosario. We're so thrilled you have had a 5-star experience! If there is anything we can do for you, please let us know at 888-storage.

April 21, 2021

Brad R.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

The staff was very helpful ( Cecily and Bronson ) they found me the right space that I need and I am very happy . Thank you so much and god bless ??????????

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/21/2021)

Hi Brad, thank you for your review. We're glad Cecily and Bronson were very helpful and found you the right space that you need. Feel free to contact us if you need anything at 888-STORAGE or stop by the office.

April 3, 2021

Francisco D.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Awesome service. Bronson was great when came to explain what our options were.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/10/2021)

Thanks for the positive review, Francisco! We are glad you had a great experience with Bronson. Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

March 31, 2021

Cassidy H.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Great place! Super friendly staff. Easy access to the units. in and out quick. highly recommend.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/7/2021)

Thank you for the kind remarks, Cassidy! We're so happy to hear we have your recommendation! We are happy to help with any storage needs at 888-storage.

March 20, 2021

Smriti S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

This facility has one of the best rates you’ll find in Manhattan for storage. 10/10 would recommend even if this space is far from where you live. We got in on a very sweet promotion deal a couple of years ago, and haven’t moved out of this space even though we live on the other end of Manhattan now. Even after an increase in the rental, we’re paying $32 for a 5ft x 5ft x 5ft space and nothing else we’ve found has seemed comparable to that price. The facility is spotless clean every time we’ve visited. None of our stuff has been missing or moved as is the case with horror reviews of storage spaces. It’s easy to find parking on this street as well if you’re driving your own vehicle.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/26/2021)

Smriti, thank you for the 5-star review! We are so glad you are satisfied with your rental rate! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Thanks for recommending Extra Space Storage! Don’t hesitate to reach out at 888-STORAGE if you need anything.

March 19, 2021

Ari G.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

I love Nancy! Thank you for being so helpful!

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/20/2021)

Hello, Ari. Thank you for the review. We're so glad Nancy could meet your storage needs. Stop by our office if you need anything in the future!

March 16, 2021

Mallory B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Professional and very courteous personnel, very helpful! Thank you!

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/17/2021)

Thanks for the positive review, Mallory! We are glad you had a great experience with us. Please call us at (718) 251-7867 if you have any questions!

March 16, 2021

Giovanni T.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

The facility is very clean and modern, with elevator access and carts available on all floors. There are motion sensor cameras throughout, as well as two convenient entrances: one on 130th Street which takes you to the 3rd level, and another on 129th Street which takes you to the 1st level where the main office is located.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/16/2021)

Thanks, Giovanni! We are so happy to hear that your experience has been positive. Extra Space Storage takes great pride in protecting your belongings and strives to provide state-of-the-art security, we're thrilled that your experience has reflected that. Stop by our office if you need anything in the future!

March 13, 2021

Diamond T.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

First time dealing with a storage facility and they were so efficient. You get to see and understand everything that is offered to you as well your signing up for. You’ll feel safe leaving your belongings here.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/20/2021)

Thank you for your kind words, Diamond. Security is our top priority and we appreciate that you have trusted us with your belongings! Don’t hesitate to reach out at 888-STORAGE if you need anything.

March 12, 2021

Amanda R.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Nancy was so helpful!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/17/2021)

Thank you for the kind words, Amanda. We're glad Nancy was able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (646) 713-1236 if you need any future assistance.

Size Disclaimer

*Excludes administrative and insurance fees

Directions

Intersections/Landmarks

W 129th St and Convent Ave

Directions from the North

Drive south on Amsterdam Ave. Turn left onto W 129th St. Our facility will be on your left.

Directions from the South

Drive north on Amsterdam Ave. Turn left onto W 129th St. Our facility will be on your left.

Directions from the East

Drive west on Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd. Turn right onto Amsterdam Ave. Turn left onto W 129th St. Our facility will be on your left.

Directions from the West

Drive east on Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd. Turn left onto Amsterdam Ave. Turn left onto W 129th St. Our facility will be on your left.