Extra Space Storage facility on 1334 E 79th St - Chicago, IL
(506 REVIEWS)

Chicago self storage at 1334 E 79th St

Hours

Today's Gate: 06:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Today's Office: 09:00 AM - 05:30 PM
Select a Unit Below

There are no results for those selected filters. Please select different filter options or clear all filters to see available units.

Call for assistance

HOURS OF OPERATION

Storage Gate Hours
Mon-Fri: 06:00am-10:00pm
Sat: 06:00am-10:00pm
Sun: 06:00am-10:00pm
Storage Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 09:30am-06:00pm
Sat: 09:00am-05:30pm
Sun: closed

Conveniently Located Near You

Located at the intersection of E 79th St and S Kenwood Ave, Extra Space Storage serves Chicago residents near Avalon Park, Calumet Heights, East Chatham, South Chicago, South Shore, and more. Locals will recognize our facility across from Curtis Key & Lock Service.

A Versatile Self Storage Solution

Extra Space Storage is your go-to self storage partner in South Chicago! Our storage facility on E 79th St can accommodate residential and commercial storage needs with a wide range of storage units, climate-controlled storage, and exceptional security.

Storage Units to Fit Your Needs

You can find units as small as 5x5 and as large as 10x30 at our Chicago self storage facility. Extra Space Storage also offers convenient features like indoor access, first-floor access, and elevator access.

Secure Storage

Extra Space Storage is dedicated to protecting your belongings. That's why our Avalon Park location is equipped with advanced security measures like video surveillance and electronic gate access.

Climate-Controlled Storage

Need to store temperature-sensitive items? Climate control can help protect your belongings from extreme temperature changes. These units typically maintain a storage environment between 55 and 80 degrees throughout the year.

Other Amenities & Services

  • Extended access hours are standard with 24/7 access available - ask site manager for details
  • Cylinder locks required for units
  • Sturdy moving carts available for heavy, bulky items
  • Convenient loading dock
  • Covered, heated loading bay
  • Accommodates trucks larger than 20 feet
  • Elevators for easy access to upper levels
  • Gate access on Sundays
  • Convenient freeway access
  • Deliveries accepted
  • On-site office
  • ADA compliant

Experience the Extra Space Difference

At Extra Space Storage, we go above and beyond to meet your self storage needs. Not only do we keep our storage facility clean and well-maintained, but we also have a reliable team of storage experts available to assist you if you have questions. Contact us today to reserve a storage unit in Chicago!

Company

Employees: 1-10

Payment Options: MasterCard / VISA / American Express / Discover / Check / Cash / Invoice

Established Date: 1977

Site Number: 7106

Directions

Intersections/Landmarks

79th & Kenwood Ave

Directions from the North

Go Southbound on South Stony Island Av, past the Jackson Park Hospital, which will be on your left. Continue South, as you approach the entrance to I-90 South, stay in the right lane. At the 3-way intersection, turn right on to East 79th Street, where there will be a White Castle restauranton the corner on your right hand side. Head East on East 79th Street, and after you drive under the I-90 freeway, the property will be on your right-hand side. If you reach 81st Street you have gone too far.

Directions from the South

Go Westbound on the East 79th Street, past the South Shore Hospital, which will be on your left. Continue heading West past South Jeffery Blvd, where there will be a Walgreens on your left. After driving past South Stony Island Avenue under the I-90 overpass, the property is on the right. While driving Westbound on East 79th Street, f you reach 79th Street/Chatham Metra Station railroad tracks you have gone too far.

Directions from the East

Go Northbound on South Stony Island Avenue, past 82nd Street and the South Shore Motel & Suites, which will be on your right. Continue heading North, past South Anthony Avenue, and after you drive under the I-90 overpass, turn left on East 79th Street, where there will be a White Castle restaurant on your left. Head East on East 79th Street, and after you drive under the I-90 freeway, the property will be on your right. While driving Northon South Stony Island Avenue, if you reach East 76th Street, you have gone too far.

Directions from the West

Go Eastbound on East 79th Street, past South Cottage Grove Avenue. Continue heading East past the 79th Strret/Chatham Metra station railroad tracks. After you pass South Kenwood Avenue, the property will be on your left. While driving Eastbound on East 79th Street, if you reach the I-90 overpass you have gone too far.

Frequently Asked Questions at 1334 E 79th St

Are storage units climate controlled at 1334 E 79th St?

How secure are storage units at 1334 E 79th St?

What sizes of self storage units are available for rent at 1334 E 79th St?

What pest control and cleanliness measures are taken at 1334 E 79th St?

How much will a 13x16 storage unit hold at E 79th St?

Size Disclaimer

*Excludes administrative and insurance fees

Recent Customer Reviews About This Facility

May 25, 2022

Kenitha J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

The manager was very thorough with his tour and explaining the process and paperwork to me. The facility was nice and clean. Extra space storage east on 79th is the best hands down.

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/26/2022)

Hi Kenitha, thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the quality and cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

May 17, 2022

Martaeon J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Place is clean and staff is nice

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/18/2022)

Hi Martaeon, thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the quality and cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Stop by our office or give us a call at (239) 330-9674 at any time if you need assistance or have any questions.

May 17, 2022

Dream C.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Very polite staff ... the place is clean ... the office smells wonderful ... I had an overall pleasant experience and I would recommend them

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/18/2022)

Thanks for the kind words, Dream Creations Gift! We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and family. Don't hesitate to stop by the office or contact us at (872) 233-4424 if you need anything.

May 17, 2022

Tamajah J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Shakyrah was very helpful and knowledgeable. Very happy with our rental purchase.

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/18/2022)

Hi Tamajah, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, knowledgeable staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with Shakyrah! Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

May 15, 2022

Christopher E.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Great experience with Shakyrha. She was very informative and let me with no questions at this time. Great job,Shakira, thank you.

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/16/2022)

Thank you for the excellent rating, Christopher! We're happy Shakyrha was able to provide a smooth rental experience. Please stop by the office or give us a call if there is anything else we can do for you!

May 13, 2022

Marnie E.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Martino & Shakyrah were awesome! Very friendly, helpful, & knowledgeable!

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/12/2022)

We think Martino and Shakyrah are great too! Thanks for the positive review, Marnie E. We pride ourselves on having a friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with us! Please stop by the office or give us a call at 888-STORAGE or stop by the office.

May 12, 2022

Tyjaun S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Had a great time now the guy was very professional very helpful nice clean storage and everything is easy to use I most definitely recommend

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/13/2022)

Thanks for the kind words, Tyjaun! We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and family. Don't hesitate to stop by the office or contact us at (872) 233-4424 if you need anything.

May 9, 2022

Sheila H.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Very professional and pleasant location love the Chicago location!

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/9/2022)

Thank you for the kind review, Sheila. We're thrilled you had a positive experience at Extra Space Storage. Please stop by the office if you have any questions.

May 6, 2022

Porsha M.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

I had a awesome experience thank you

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/7/2022)

Hello, Porsha. Thank you so much for the positive review, it means a lot to our team! If you have any questions feel free to stop by or give us a call at (872) 233-4424.

May 6, 2022

Aliyah M.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Not my first time renting a unit. Place is very clean. Manager is respectful and super helpful as always. Sorted out issues with the website for me with no hassle. Very just & kind. My favorite storage place. Definitely worth every penny.

Response from Extra Space Storage (5/7/2022)

Hi Aliyah, thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the quality and cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

April 23, 2022

Sharae D.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Great location, excellent service and guide by Martino.

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/24/2022)

Thanks for the positive review, Sharae! We are glad you had a great experience with Martino. Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

April 22, 2022

Kandy S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Mr. Tino was very pleasant and welcoming. Took me back to school for a short sec with the knowledge and training of the unit procedure but well worth it. Great help! -kandy

Response from Extra Space Storage (1/3/2021)

Hi Kandy, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We pride ourselves on having a friendly, knowledgeable staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with Mr. Tino! Don't hesitate to reach out to us at 888-storage if you need anything!?

April 18, 2022

Virgil S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Clean and user friendly...

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/19/2022)

Hi Virgil, your kind words are appreciated! We make it a priority to provide clean, well-maintained facilities and are so glad to hear your experience reflects that. Give us a call at 888-storage if you have any questions.

April 10, 2022

Justice B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

I absolutely love the customer service! Instantly greeted with a warm welcome and a smile. The space is very clean and looks brand new. I’m looking forward to continue business with this company for quite some time.

Response from Extra Space Storage (1/18/2021)

Hi Justice, thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that your experience with the quality and cleanliness of the facility has been positive! Please stop by the office or reach out to us at 888-storage if you have any questions!

April 9, 2022

Jada C.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Martino James was very helpful he guided thought the storage unit and also was very detailed about everything I will definitely recommend coming here because it is very organized, clean and customer service is good!

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/9/2022)

Thank you for the kind words, Jada. We're glad Martino was able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (872) 233-4424 if you need any future assistance.

April 8, 2022

Brionna S.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Great, quick customer service. Shakyra was very helpful and accommodating. In a world that doesn’t value customer service anymore, they definitely still do. Greatly appreciated!

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/9/2022)

Thank you for the review, Brionna! We pride ourselves on having a helpful, accommodating staff and are so happy Shakyra was able to assist you! As always, give us a call at 888-storage if you need anything.

April 1, 2022

B-Lee O.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Great experience and fast

Response from Extra Space Storage (4/1/2022)

Hi B-lee On The Run, thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear your experience was great. Don’t hesitate to reach out if you need anything at 888-STORAGE.

March 30, 2022

Rachel B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Shakyrah @ store 7106 on 79th!!!! Made my day! Super nice, competent, helpful. So glad I got her!!! Thx!!

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/30/2022)

Thank you for the kind words, Rachel. We're glad Shakyrah was able to help! Our team is here to serve you, so give us a call at (872) 233-4424 if you need any future assistance.

March 28, 2022

Asia J.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Today I was greeted by Martino at site 7106 The 79th St. location I must say I was pleased with his professionalism . He was so informative while Educating me about the storage unit also the different ways to access the building . He demonstrated how to work the lock it was very patient in doing so . I must say I would recommend this storage to all of my family and friends.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/28/2022)

Hi Asia, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We pride ourselves on having a professional, informative, and patient staff, so we are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience renting with Martino! We appreciate your kind words. Your recommendation means so much to us! Our team is here to help, as always, give us a call at 888-storage if anything comes up.

March 27, 2022

TP B.

Posted On Google

OVERALL RATING

Even the *garage* in this place smells clean. Spotless. Easy to access. Martino, the site manager, was impeccable with his service. Best experience I've had to date with a storage facility. Very glad I chose this place, and will likely be recommending it to others I know in the area.

Response from Extra Space Storage (3/28/2022)

Thank you, Tp, for the great rating! We pride ourselves on keeping our storage facility clean and organized so we are thrilled to hear your experience reflects that! We are happy to hear Martino hit the mark for you. We are here to help! Please give us a call at 888-storage if anything comes up!